What are your hours?
Our hours are 7 am - 6 pm, Monday through Friday.
What are your child to teacher ratios?
1 Year 1:6
2 Year 1:11
3 Year 1:15
4 Year 1:20
5 year 1:25
*During VPK instruction hours, class ratio for four year olds is 1:11 or 2:20.
What are your staff requirements?
The ELC staff members caring for your children are committed to providing a loving, Christian environment while providing quality care. The Director of the ELC holds a Director’s license under the Florida Department of Children and Families. The teachers and aides in the facility are certified in education and/or have experience teaching or working with young children. All staff members who will be in the classroom and in daily contact with the children are fingerprinted and Level 2 Background Screened in the state of Florida as well as nationwide. Staff requirements meet or exceed the standards required by the Florida Department of Children and Families as published in Chapter 65C-22 Child Care Standards of the Florida Administrative Code. VPK teachers also hold a specific VPK program credential.
How will I know my child will be safe?
We take the safety and security of your child very seriously and will follow every precaution to ensure they are cared for with the utmost respect. The ELC is a secured facility. Only parent or guardian-approved individuals will have access to the children’s areas. The building and playground are monitored by security cameras.
What holidays are you closed for and what about summer?
We will observe national and religious holidays to include New Years Day, Fourth of July, Thanksgiving Day, and Christmas Day. We will be open and provide childcare during the summer months.
Do you provide lunch?
No, parents/caregivers must provide an appropriate lunch each day for the child. Please do not provide foods that will need to be warmed or cooked. Be sure to also provide a healthy beverage. Refrigeration is not provided for standard lunches or beverages, so consider including an ice pack. Each child should be provided easy to open food containers, in age-appropriate sizes. Juice boxes/bags with high sugar content are discouraged. Please mark your child’s lunch box and drink container with the child’s name.
What if I have a child with special dietary needs?
Since parents provide the daily lunch, you are able to ensure your child’s specific dietary needs are met. If your child has allergies or dietary restrictions, please notify the ELC Director in writing with specific details so staff can ensure foods are not shared with children who have such allergies. For a good resource on child care nutrition, including guidelines for a healthy and balanced diet that includes fruits, vegetables and whole grains, and limits foods and beverages high in sugar and/or fat, visit the USDA MyPlate website at www.choosemyplate.gov.
What is your approach to potty training?
All of our classrooms from age 2 through 5 provide in-room, child-friendly private bathrooms. The potty training schedule is determined by each child’s developmental level, and generally is introduced in the 2-year-old room. Teachers work with parents to establish a plan for consistency in training at school and at home. Children enrolled in the 3-year-old program or above must be potty trained.
Do you have a nurse on site?
We do not have a nurse on site; however we do have CPR and First Aid certified staff members available at all times the facility is operational. An Automated External Defibrillator (AED) device is also available with staff members who have been trained in its use. West Florida Hospital is adjacent to the preschool campus and an ambulance will be called for transporting students if deemed medically necessary.
How will you handle breastmilk and formula for infants?
We support both breastfed and formula-fed babies and will follow you and your physician’s wishes when it comes to your baby’s individual nutrition needs. Refrigerators are provided in the infant and toddler rooms for families to provide bottled infant formula, baby food or bottled breast milk. Mothers who wish to breastfeed during the day can speak with the ELC Director to prearrange accommodations.
When is tuition due?
Tuition is due on the 1st day of each month and will not be prorated or discounted due to school holidays, emergency closings, severe weather closings or child’s absence due to illness, vacation etc. Tuition is considered late if not received by the 5th calendar day of the month, and a late fee of $25 will be added. Students will not be admitted to the classroom if overdue tuition and fees are not paid by the 10th calendar day of the month.
Are there any discounts for siblings?
Yes, we offer discounts including a discount for multiple children and annual prepay of tuition.
What is your payment policy?
Payments may be made by cash, personal check, cashier’s check, or credit card. Payments are expected on time with no exceptions. Late fees will be added to any account with an outstanding balance due after the 5th calendar day of the month. Payments may also be made online through the ELC’s secure website.
Can I visit my child during the day?
Classrooms will periodically invite parents and friends to visit the ELC for special events, and we hope you will participate. Parents are permitted to visit the school to observe their child’s class or have lunch with their child with advance notice. For the security of the children at the ELC and to minimize classroom disruptions, please contact the ELC Director at least one school day in advance to arrange any visits taking place during school hours.
How does drop off and pick up work?
A parent or guardian must check students in and out each day using the ELC’s attendance software. Parents and caregivers will be provided a unique entry code for the facility’s secure entrance system. Please protect this entry code to ensure the safety of your child and others. The facility’s exterior doors will be locked and only accessible to employees with a passkey. Parents and caregivers will be required to enter the building from the main entrance for drop-off and pick up each day. Only parents and caregivers listed on a child’s enrollment form will be allowed to pick up a child. Proper photo identification will be required. If someone arrives to pick up your child and their name is not on the enrollment form, we cannot and will not release the child until we have received proper confirmation from a parent or guardian. No one under the age of 16 will be allowed to remove your child from the school at anytime, including siblings. Security and the safety of your child is our top priority.